Home » Our Work » Information and Monitoring » News » Winners of Dubai International Award for Best Practices announced
Winners of Dubai International Award for Best Practices announced Bookmark and Share
  Email this story
  Print This Page!

Dubai, 5 Nov 10

An independent jury of international experts has announced the 12 winners of the 2010 Dubai International Award for Best Practices to Improve the Living Environment.

This is the eighth cycle of the UN-HABITAT administered Award established in 1995 with the support of the Dubai Government and United Arab Emirates to support transfer and exchange of knowledge, expertise and experiences through networking and peer to peer learning.

The announcement of the winners came at a news conference held by the Dubai Municipality, led by Eng. Hussain Nasser Lootah, Director General of Dubai Municipality, Mr. Obaid Salem Al Shamsi, Assistant Director General for International Affairs and Partnership Sector and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Dubai International Award for Best Practices, Dr. Diana Lee-Smith, Chairperson of the International Jury of the award and Ms. Wandia Seaforth, Chief of the Best Practices Programme, UN-HABITAT.

Eng. Lootah invited the winners from Angola, Kenya, Lebanon, Mongolia, Bulgaria, Spain (2 winners), Brazil, El Salvador, Mexico, Austria and Argentina to a special award ceremony at the end of this year hosted by Dubai. He explained that the event would present an opportunity to share the experiences, successes and lessons of the practices.

He described ongoing efforts to disseminate and exchange information about the award which include publications, public information campaigns and a best practice database. He stressed that all the selected practices addressed the issues that affect the lives of people and provided concrete solutions to problems faced by communities around the world in their efforts to provide better living conditions.

All the submissions received will be added to the UN-HABITAT Best Practices database to support sharing of knowledge and transfer of best practices to communities around the world.

The winners were announced by Ms. Lee-Smith from the UK, Chair of the international jury whose other members consisted of Mr. Ousmane M. Diallo from Mali, Mr. Gustavo Romero Fernandez from Mexico, Ms. Maria Fides Bagasao from the Philippines and Mr. Abdulla Mohammed Rafia from Dubai.

Ten Best Practices:

  1. Angola - Luanda Urban Poverty Programme
  2. Kenya - Ikotoilet - Improving the Urban Living Environment
  3. Arab States
  4. Lebanon - Sustainable Environmental Practices and Policies
  5. Asia
  6. Mongolia - Environment Friendly Products
  7. Europe
  8. Bulgaria - Composting: a Livelihood for the Roma (Gypsy) Ethnic Minority in a small city
  9. Spain - Barcelona Schools Agenda 21 Programme
  10. Spain - Municipal Climate Change Plan Noain, Valle de Elorz
  11. Latin America
  12. Brazil - Cities without Hunger - Community Gardens in Sao Paulo.
  13. El Salvador - Recovery of the Housing Complex in the Historical Centre of San Salvador
  14. Mexico - Transfer of Appropriate Technologies for Water and Sanitation Management in Tzotzill Indigenous Community in Chiapas.


Two Best Practice Transfer Awards

  1. Austria - Vienna Buys Ecologically
  2. Argentina - Legal Extension through Neighbours in the City of Mendoza .


The criteria used to assess the practices included sustainability, impact and partnership, and other considerations such as the potential for replication, innovation and contribution to the promotion of gender equality and social inclusion and integrated approach to human settlements issues.

Site Map | Site Directory | Contact Us | Feedback | Terms & Conditions | Fraud and scam alert